February: Presidents’ Day Prep

February 17, 2009

Done list, in case I forget where stuff is.

Done list, in case I forget where stuff is.

I started working on things for Saturday’s dinner this weekend, after a good friend who was in town for a few days took off. A nice way to spend a holiday weekend, really. I’ll post the menu in a bit, though there will probably be changes even after that, because something always goes wrong. But so I knocked out some dessert components :

Frank splits a squash

Frank splits a squash

Kabocha glaze

Kabocha glaze

Brown butter

Brown butter

The resulting brown butter cake

The resulting brown butter cake

And some pasta:

Celery root through the food mill

Celery root through the food mill

Ravioli for the celery dish

Ravioli for the celery dish

Yeah, some of those ravioli turned out kind of messed up, but there are a few extra so hopefully nobody will be upset. I’m still not sure about the Thomas Keller pasta recipe with all the eggs. Kneading for 25 minutes sucks and I’m not really sure if it’s worth it. I just need a new roller, maybe. Also, that one really janky one is just the tester, I swear.

Then on Sunday I got to the mignardises. I made mango pate de fruit, which thanks to the fact that both my scale and my thermometer konked out, I expected to be terrible. The internet seemed to think they were touchy and difficult, and I managed to burn the whole bottom of the gel while cooking it so that I had to force it through a tamis to get out the burned bits.

Pates de fruits brulee?

Pates de fruits brulee?

Even so, they turned out okay for a first try. Little sweet maybe, but I ate one today and it was cool.

All sugared up

All sugared up

Annoyingly, the thing that I pretty squarely didn’t do right turned out okay, but  the truffles, which I’ve successfully made a bunch of times, were a mess. They’re green tea white chocolate truffles. I’ve made green tea brown chocolate truffles and they were completely easy, but these were super soft. I already added more chocolate once but I guess because white chocolate is all cocoa butter it’s softer so it takes more? We shall see. Frank and I ate some and they tasted good but were mega sticky.

Turns out this was way too much liquid

Turns out this was way too much liquid

This did not turn into truffles

This did not turn into truffles

Then lastly, I made this earl grey cookie dough that I froze to cook off later:

Cookie dough

Cookie dough

More later in the week, friends. Let’s hope it all comes together.

Leave a Reply

