February: Thursday and Friday Prep

February 20, 2009

This fixed the truffles

This fixed the truffles

I have been a busy bee. As you can see, I added more chocolate to the truffles and now they hold. I took some to work for our pie day today, and people were into them so I think they’re ok.

Also, I made some sunchoke soup and some parsnip puree. These came off without incident.

And some roasted garlic puree, which is basically the easiest puree of all time:

The parsnips and garlic are for the fish, the soup for the sunchoke duo. I started the kabocha candy for the dessert, though I can’t seem to get the caramelized yogurt to work. I’m not sure if I will just skip it or try and find a substitute.

Squash candy

Squash candy

I also made some brown butter solids based on a smart idea by a commenter on Laurent Gras’s blog. You add nonfat powdered milk into the butter, so you get lots of solids. This is also for the dessert.

To fuel the Friday prep, I enjoyed some margaritas, yum. That there is the head of the penguin shaker I got from Frank for xmas.

pengyritas

pengyritas

Okay, back to business. I braised the celery for the pasta dish:

Braise me!

Braise me!

I roasted and cut up the beets for the amuse

roundy beets

roundy beets

Which of course made a giant mess.

This was way darker than it looks here.

This was way darker than it looks here.

So that’s that. I know I’m mega-jinxing myself, but I feel like I’m better prepared than I was last month at this time. I’m not entirely sure what’s up with dessert, and I definitely still have to buy a lot of stuff tomorrow, including all the fish. Plus the wine. Plus we have to clean and set up. Yikes. Anyway, wish me luck. It is time for me to eat Mexican takeout, watch Adult Swim, and sleep.

Leave a Reply

